The Ultimate Summer

and why it's necessary.

Hi friends,

About six weeks ago I discovered I had some heart issues. High blood pressure to be exact. Those of you who’ve followed my story for a while know this is an ongoing issue for me, but this past time was kind of scary - or at least it scared me. Although I’d love to believe it’s all heredity, I know some of it is stress and lifestyle. I take on so much and really require the absolute best out of myself constantly, so I tend to just bury myself in stress that’s usually self-inflicted.

Since it’s fairly evident this is a problem that finally needs to be addressed, and because I want to go into my 40s healthy and happy, I’ve decided to give myself the summer.

What does that mean?

Well, I’m a worker. I work. I take on projects. I make huge goals. I strive. While that’s all well and good, the result is that I’m usually left feeling disappointed in myself. I could have done better. I should have done more. I’ve somehow fallen short or taken the wrong path.

I’m tired of feeling like that. I’m tired of not feeling like I’m enough, and I don’t want that anymore.

There are only so many childhood summers left, and I want to live IN this one.

There are books to read, paintings to paint, ice cream cones to eat, photos to take, meals to cook, and moments to capture.

Enter this blog. This is our summer. These are my moments. Welcome.

Happy summer.

Blayne

Did you know you can buy prints of my original paintings? These are gallery wrapped canvases and are available at much lower prices than my originals! (Shop now)

Do you like golf?

We are sponsored by Rhoback and truly love the products. Use code Penny20 for 20% off your order.